I am your long lost sister…the day I made contact with “Her”

In the midst of talking to my daughter, who is turning ten, about the “circle of life” as she calls it I get an awkward email. Yes awkward indeed because the message was from an older woman. Attached to this email was a picture of her. At first glance I immediately zoomed in on her eyes. My eyes. Damn we had the same eyes.

Let me back track. In this email I am being told that she is my older sister. And is nine years older than I. How can this be? Nope I didn’t ask that question. My first response was “am I being punked right now?” I never imagined in my life that I would get a “I am related to you” email. But here I was sitting here reading this email out loud to my daughter, whom by the way was confused.

“She’s like your sister sister?” She asked.

I looked at her and said, “Obviously my daddy had another one hidden.” This isn’t the first time I was approached in my life with the idea of other siblings out there. I mean geesh why do men do this? We grow up and always have to hear stories about your quest to populate the world. Why can’t men be more honest about their indiscretions, disregard their feelings and man up to the fact they have more seeds out there then they want to admit to.

Reading this email I ask, “Why is she sending me this? Immediately some may think because I am in the public eye that she wants something from me. Ok I want lie, that crossed my mind too but she openly stated all she wanted to do was to know who her family was. She took me down memory lane, and revealed that she indeed knew some of my family history.

I felt bad for her. I felt bad for myself. I feel bad for the other siblings I know I have but yet haven’t met. She has kids. “I have more nieces and nephews.” I told myself. I love being an auntie. Because at all of 26 years old I am not much older than most of my nieces and nephews and can relate to them on a more personal level. They reach out to me and I offer my shoulder on many occasions.

But here I am now faced with what to do? Hmmmm I don’t know; what would you guys do if you got an email like this?

Sincerely,

A wondering mind….

Comments

  1. Oh girl, you know I would have to make contact out of curoisity if nothing else. If you don’t actually find a sister, you would have found someone who wants to be your sister.

  2. Wow.
    I had the same thing happening to me and i was really confused (i’m no seleb though) :p
    I think you should do whatever your heart tells you to.

  3. I am a bit sentimental so I would attempt to get to know her and her children… if for no other reason than so my daughter will know her extended family and NOT have any problems down the line… like “I found out I’m dating my cousin!” Also, I do not think that children/siblings should suffer due to the indiscretions of their parents. This could be genuine request and if it is not people will show their true colors sooner or later… Go with your heart.

  4. I will say that I am your ”sister’ in the way the she just wants to know her family. I am a child of a Mistress, and I didn’t put the pieces of the puzzle together until age 26. smh. Give her a chance Tamika share with her, tell her who her family is, she simply wants answers. It is so deep with myself I sometimes wonder if my father is my father even though I do look like him. The feeling of questioning him being my biological dad is only something I feel within my spirit and cannot explain out loud. This blog is very touching to me. When I look in the mirror I always want to know ”who” my family is, because by the way I look they sure ‘aint just black dem mix with suin’ *country voice*. lol. All jokes aside give the Woman a chance and answer the questions that she wants to know, and you will grow with knowing something through her you may have not have known about your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

