Tamika says “I will never bask in all this glory!”

In the lobby of my hotel room I am in search for a bathroom. I tried to manage to hold the contents of my stomach but to my surprise I was losing that battle. I needed to go bad and I needed to go then and now. So I went in search of that woman’s bathroom sign, my temporary haven. As soon as I was spot on I heard someone call out, “Are you Tamika Newhouse?”

This is a true story of an awkward encounter. After all I am just a writer so why should people recognize me? But this is one of many stories I can tell where I have been recognized and now was not the right time. I had to go use the bathroom and it wasn’t just to pee either.

I tried to hide my annoyance as I replied, “yes I am her?” Thinking I should have lied. But I couldn’t lie, this woman was very certain I was THE Tamika Newhouse. I shook her hand as she began her interrogation, “What are you doing in Atlanta? I always follow your post on Facebook” and etc. etc.

“I’m here for my book launch of Kisses Don’t Lie.” I laughed. “I am on the outskirts of the city and didn’t expect anyone to notice me way out here. What are you doing out here?” I asked clenching my stomach and hiding my agony with a smile.

She replies, “I am here visiting family.” She goes on to mention the books of mines she has enjoyed and then looks toward the bathroom. I looked too so wanting to go inside that bathroom and be alone. She asks am I going in.

I quickly shook my head no, “You gone on ahead now, I got to hurry up out of here.” I scurried away to find the next safe haven.

The point of this story is, I love what I do but sometimes hate what comes with it. I can honestly say I don’t know how to accept compliments without it coming off as cocky on my end. Sometimes my simple nods of thank you’s and soft smiles are taken as me being stand offish or stuck up.

But seriously what do you want me to say?

I love what I do, I love my readers, I love those who say I inspire them but what can I say besides thank you?

I always tell people I never want to get to the point where I expect a compliment. I never want to be the person that demands that thank you so I simply say thank you and smile. I do not dwell on the accolades. I do not wallow in the glory. I do not seek anyone’s approval.

I simply say thank you and smile. Because at the end of the day if I ever get to the point where all the compliments and all the glory over shadow my main goals I will stumble and fall. So to those that think I come off stand offish or arrogant or unappreciative I will always just say thank you and smile. Because at the end of the day I appreciate all of your kind words, but those kind words can also make someone lose focus on what their goal is.

The moral of this story is….I will never bask in praises because I am never done living out my dream.

Comments

  1. lol good way to look at it! through a hug in every now n then 😉

  2. Wow, Sorry but it is funny, yet you handled yourself well. What a position to be in.

  3. I love this story, coming from a women who just got paid handsomely but I just brushed it to the side because at the end of my day, I am very grateful but I can’t sit here and pop bottles, the work still goes on! #humble #accountable for my actions

  4. LOL! You know if you had gone on in and blew it up she would have talked about you! Sometimes folk forget that we are all human and have needs including bathroom needs!

  5. This is a great story, Tamika. That’s what I love about you. You never have lost sight of who you are. This is why you inspire many women.

    Many Blessings,

    Stacie Walker

Leave a Reply

