How in the world did Tamika get so damn skinny?

I was well into be a big woman. Meaning I was just over weight. Now I do not knock my big girls at all. Hey I was proud to be one, but that wasn’t the issue. When I saw my blood pressure rise and continue to rise I knew I had to do something. My weight gain started at the age of about 20, now I had already had one child at 16 but my body bounced back then. But when I became pregnant with my son, it was all over. A sista started to get thick in all the right places until it turned horribly wrong lol. I can laugh about it now, but huffing and puffing to climb the stairs ain’t funny. I was 247 pounds. Yes I don’t round it up to 250 lol.

Now I was still very confident and a huge flirt at that, but I knew that I was headed down the same road my mother walked. Unfortunately for me though unlike my mother I started having children at 16, so my health became more at risk early on. My mother had her first child at 27 and had diabetes and high blood pressure by mid 30s and was dead at 52. So I started calculating, would I die in my 30s? Will my weight gain and hypertension cause me to die young?

Now don’t get me wrong, I knew what the odds were and that I would more likely die young if I didn’t do something about my health. It wasn’t about looking fly and having a flat stomach, shoot I just wanted to be healthy. I have two kids that I want to see grow up. So it took me a minute to get serious. I procrastinated for a long time about starting a new life change. Notice I said life change and not a diet, because diets never last. I needed to start a new habit not a temporary fix.

In February 2011 I finally got my big butt up and went to a Zumba class. Now this is a salsa type aerobics class. And I recommend anyone to exercise the fun way. I hate weight lifting and a boring ass jog. I needed something I was going to look forward to. I started going to this class and danced my ass off, shaking what my mama gave me. And I’ll be real honest I was huffing and puffing and thought my heart was going to burst out of my chest. I was so out of shape it wasn’t funny.

But the most important thing is I had so much fun in this class burning up to 800 calories that I was looking forward to going to it. I was at home rushing to cook dinner and get the kids homework done so I can leave and get to my class. It was my me time. But on the flip side I didn’t change my eating yet. A sista was still scoffing down her cat fish, hamburgers, fries, meat loaf, and ooooo did I mention peach cobbler. I’m drooling right now, but back to my point. I didn’t come off the bat and say I’m going to exercise and eat right because let’s be honest we have to do it slowly.

I think most people never commit to a life change or diet because they try to change too much too soon. Take it slow and maintain something first. If you can change you’re eating first then do it, if not try to exercise first. So with going to Zumba I managed to lose five pounds and maintain my weight.
After a moth of Zumba and going to the gym, I tackled what I like to call my master cleaner. No not that diet though, but a liquid diet. I drank protein shakes, jello, pudding, broth, and anything considered a liquid for two straight weeks dropping over 18 pounds. This was the hardest thing I ever had to do. Remind you I couldn’t eat my fried chicken or anything that was tasty. Just a damn protein shake. I can say damn now because I’m passed that phase, but a girl was upset and hungry. But I stuck it out. Now I knew once it was time to start eating regular food again I had to take it slow.

So now I fix my foods on a saucer because if I get a full plate Ill want to eat all of that food and let’s be honest we all need to eat the size of our hand. With doing that I am not able to eat as much as I use to anymore and with maintaining my exercise and BAM I am down over 60 pounds. I think I pulled a Jennifer Hudson lol.

But it was all worth the turmoil to lose that weight. I went shopping in the skinny girl store the other day and I could fit a medium. I am down to a size 10 from a size 18 and well let’s just say I am more conceited then before. You’ll really hate me now lol.

On the other hand, I still can’t sing, can’t dance worth a dime but at least now I look good as hell trying. What about you? Do you want to lose some weight? Not to look good but to be healthy, shoot because if you do there is nothing stopping you but yourself. So get your lazy butt up and live. And live hard because Lord knows I plan to. I know I’ll die one day but not because I’m fat and unhealthy but by the grace of God I’ll die old and with a pen in my hand writing my latest story.

~Tamika
Smooches!

Comments

  1. Wow! That is VERY inspirational. I think I might just try the liquid cleanse. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  2. Charlotte Young-Foye says:

    I freakin love this you go girl im super proud of you, continue to inspire 🙂

  3. Congratulations! You look so fly! Thanks for sharing and the encouraging words. Write on baby, write!

    Cheers!

  4. I applaud your success as well as your sexiness. You are a true inspiration. Thank you so much for sharing your journey I just switch gyms so I can now Zumba twice a week 😀

  5. Tamika you are such an inspiration! You are an incredibly talented and FOCUSED young woman. I’m truly in awe of your accomplishment. You look GORGEOUS!!! Wish you many blessings 🙂

  6. OMG!!! You look Fabulous!! I was just looking at the Zumba DVD’s to order them because I have not come to the point of going to a gym yet and letting everyone see stuff on my waving back at me and them. LOL

  7. You look awesome! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. This is the most down to earth, realistic blog about life change I’ve ever read; I read a LOT! Kudos Tamika! I’m now following on Twitter because you seem like my type of sister girl!!! Go girl!

  9. Congratulations!

  10. norris720 says:

    Interesting success story. How would a man introduce this blog to his wife who says she needs to lose weight without getting put on the couch?

  11. LOL well try to say honey look at what Tamika did, what do you think about trying it out you know lol

  12. Amazing and inspiring!

  13. You are blessed to have strong willpower. Now is the time that I should consider becoming serious about weight loss. It’s all about being healthy….that was a great success story.

  14. Thank you…..I am almost in tears congrats

  15. Congrats on the *new* you!! Enjoyed your post.

  16. Tamika you look good! I’m so glad to hear that your pressure is down and you are moving toward a healthier lifestyle. It gives all of us older sistahs a reason to get up and Zumba! Proud of your determination! Ella Curry, EDC Creation

  17. you inspire me i have watch your journey and yes you do look good, I want to lose 50 pounds and i’m starting to change my eating habit first keep up the progress .

  18. The story was great, you know i have known you a long time.. Gurl Gurl Gurl you look GORGEOUS

  19. Love the story, You know I have known you for Al long time. Girl Girl Girl you look GORGEOUS

  20. TY lady yes its been forever lol

  21. You look great girl! That sounded just like me! The weight and the Hot ass mess blog! Lol Thank you for sharing your story Tamika! You make my “impossible” Possible

  22. Just wanted to know how long it took to loose 60pds

  23. overall now I have lost 85 pouns. To lose 60 pounds took about eight months

  24. You go girl!!

  25. I am working on my weight for serious health reason and i ”am skinny”.. lol just not as skinny how I use to be between the two babies. This inspired me to blog some person stories.. *sigh* though the thought makes me a little nervous.

  26. You look radiant! Stay blessed sis 🙂

  27. That’s awesome! You’re my inspiration in so many ways.

  28. Thanks for sharing such a real look into the possibility.

  29. Thank you, this hit home…

  30. Carla Anyaele says:

    Such an inspiring story and you look great. I have gained 80 lbs. and very depressed I was in a size 8 now in a size 18-20 and it’s so depressing. I hate exercising as well maybe I’ll try zumba because I like dancing.

Leave a Reply

