I remember Delphine

I remember Delphine Delphine is my inspiration to a lot of things I do in life. I am continuing my education, following my dream as a writer, and traveling the world. Every time I step into a new city for the first time I get emotional because I constantly repeat mama I am doing it. I am doing this! You see Delphine is my mama. Some people tend to say she was my mother because she has died but what makes you think she is no longer your mother by saying she was. So I blatantly say she is my mother. She is dead and gone but not forgotten. I was looking at her obituary today. She died September 25, 2006. I was twenty years old. Fresh out of high school. You see I was a mother of a three year old and my husband was in Iraq. I remember the day she died like it was yesterday. The tears that stung my eyes, the many family members staring me down because every decision I made wasn’t to their liking. My mother had a saying “DO IT GOD”. I quote that today for her since she isn’t here to say it. I am so much like her. Loud, boyish, visionary, determined, and a lover of words. I hate that as I grow older I can’t have that relationship with her. But I also know that if I choose to do good in life I can not only see her when I pass over but I can make her proud in the process. You see everything I do reflects who she was when she was here. So I do not want to embarrass her or make people feel ashamed. So I put my fingers to these key boards and I write. I write all sorts of things such as gospel, romance, erotica, contemporary, and drama. Because that is me. I am all the above. This Saturday I release my second book The Ultimate Moment No Regrets on my mother’s birthday September 5th. In honor of her, in honor of her legacy I continue to try to please her. So I remember you mama. I think of all the what if’s everyday. But I do know this if not anything else. I am doing it mama; I am doing it for OUR legacy. Mika

Comments

  1. Congrats Tamika on your second release and your successful year. With God all things are possible. As a mother, our spirit is always with our children whether they are near or far! I am sure with God’s Spirit and the Memories of your mom, you will accomplish your goals! See ya at your book release.

  2. I love this I really needed to hear this funny how God puts you where you need to be. When the vultures come to devour it can make you feel like your carry a ton of bricks. But I just keep encouraging myself to keep pressing. I’m glad you had a wonderful relationship with your mom, some of us never will. But I just pray that God will keep me motivated and driven to do what I love doing and prove to myself not to anyone else that I can do all things threw him. God bless

  3. Just yesterday my ex-boyfriend told me to cherish my mother. He lost his mother at a young age as well. This just reinforces everything he said. Thank you!

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

